Arrington De Dionyso

Arrington de Dionyso (rarities) Zip Pak

Sold Out

This week the KSingles Zip-Pak is not a preview of any future Krelease, it is comprised entirely of Special Apps, (recordings that will be found only via theKMail Order Dept.). Re-visioning ancient technologies for the naked future, Arrington de Dionyso uses the same cuneiform-carving wedges that built the ziggurats of Mesopotamia to carve sound waves into plastic picnic plates at the Olympia, Wash. Dub Narcotic Studio. The resulting sounds are off the hook feral yawps that transcend time and space, with the power to penetrate mountains and collide protons. Repetition and trance are constant themes in these hand-made records, each one ends in a locked groove that can be played infinitely to induce either a meditative or a frenzied state of altered consciousness. This process is illustrated on a short documentary by N.Y., N.Y. filmmaker Elisa de Prato.
The resultant phonograph records are available for sale directly from Arrington de Dionyso at live performances.
The song titles are followed by Arrington's commentary:

1. Halilintar (Instrumental)
"This is the actual recording being used as a rhythm track for the last song on Suara Naga [the upcoming album by Arrington de Dionyso's Malaikat dan Singa]; Gordon Baker on bass, Stephie Cristol on drums, Arrington on bass clarinet."

2. Halilintar (Alternate Vocal Version)
"While each lathe cut record is a one-of a kind sonic art object in itself, I enjoy recording multiple versions of the same song- this is a live take of the song "Halilintar" played with a completely different rhythm by the line up listen above, along with Angelo Spencer on guitar."

3. Madu Mahadahsyat (Extraordinary Honey)
"Angelo's guitar line in this one is extra sinuous! 'Honey this sweet can't possibly come from a hive.'"

4. Riddim Ragga Raga (Instrumental)
"Dub stylings with live manipulation of percussive and bass clarinet sounds sent through an amplified echoplex!"

5. Space and Time Are Demons (Version)
"From the same session as number 4, slightly intensified version of the same basic idea..."

6. Harmonic Voice Hologram
"A fractal spectrum is illustrated using vocal harmonics."

The album Suara Naga [KLP226] by Arrington de Dionyso's Malaikat dan Singa became available March 29th, 2011.